Other Funding Opportunities

Harold S. Geneen Charitable Trust Awards Program for Coronary Heart Disease Research

Program Focus and Overview

The Harold S. Geneen Charitable Trust Awards Program for Coronary Heart Disease Research supports research in the area of the prevention and control of coronary and circulatory failure. The Awards Program seeks to contribute to the prevention of coronary heart disease or circulatory failure, and improving care for patients with these medical conditions.

In accordance with Mr. Geneen’s directives the Program seeks to establish “…a more direct and personalized relationship with grant recipients than is normally possible in dealing with the diffuse and bureaucratic administrations through which large organizations are managed,…and to support smaller institutions rather than major universities or medical complexes which have a demonstrated capacity to raise funds from the public generally.”

Invited institutions may submit one application to the Program which meets the eligibility requirements for the 2015 Grant Cycle. Applicants must be full-time faculty at an invited nonprofit academic, medical, or research institution. United States citizenship is not required. Junior faculty are encouraged to apply.

As Co-Trustee, U.S. Trust has retained The Medical Foundation division to manage the administrative aspects of the Harold S. Geneen Charitable Trust Awards Program for Coronary Heart Disease Research. The Medical Foundation, a division of Health Resources in Action (HRiA) is a Boston-based nonprofit organization that advances public health and medical research. Established in 1957 as a not-for-profit organization to support medical research, The Medical Foundation division creates and administers high quality grant programs for private individuals, trusts and foundations.  In 2014, these programs awarded nearly 17 million dollars to support scientists throughout the United States and internationally.

Invited Institutions for the 2015 Grant Cycle
The following medical schools are invited to submit one candidate to the Program:
  • Brown University Warren Alpert Medical School
  • Dartmouth College Geisel School of Medicine
  • University of Connecticut School of Medicine
  • University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry
  • University of Vermont College of Medicine
  • University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine
  • Mayo Medical School
  • Wake Forest University School of Medicine
  • University of Kentucky College of Medicine
Last updated on Thursday, October 22 at 4:05 pm
The 2015 application cycle has closed.
Jeanne Brown Jeanne Brown
Program Officer
617.279.2240, ext. 709

Jeanne Brown Ms. Brown’s experience is in project management, operations management and client relations in both healthcare and academic settings. She applies her knowledge and best practices in the management of several programs including one international grantmaking program. Ms. Brown specializes in building processes for the delivery of efficient and complete grantmaking services for our clients. She brings core skills such as planning, budget management and problem solving to the team.